Good Food in Sutton Park

As you can tell from the misty haze in these photos, this trip was back in January and I completely forgot to write this blog post (I get quite carried away when new ideas come up).

IMG_4993

This trip was to Sutton Park with my darling mother and my dog, Millie the gorgeous Cavapoo. We decided to go for a walk and go for some food and Sutton Park is somewhere we had been before and loved but had only ever stopped off at this cafe before for drinks and never for food and BOY was I glad that we did!

Also, I have been wanting to play around with this camera for a long time, it is the Canon 450D and I am in no way trained to use this camera so this was literally just a play around but I am excited to actually learn how to use it properly soon. Sorry if the quality or the brightness of these photos aren’t the most incredible you have seen, my deepest apologies – they will improve.

Ok, on to the good stuff. The cafe we went to was called the Blackroot Bistro and, as far as I am aware, it is the only cafe actually in the park. We drove to the park and then walked to the cafe which is relatively small inside but also has some seating outside, where we sat as we had Millie, and as it was January it was pretty damn cold and so, of course, I couldn’t say no to a pot of tea.

And, then was the food. It isn’t the most inexpensive place to eat however equally isn’t ridiculously expensive especially when you consider what you get! I paid about £8.50 for my meal which was a baguette and soup combo. I chose the chicken, stuffing, cranberry and gravy baguette (toasted= 100% better) with the ‘Soup of the Day’ which was butternut squash, celery and chestnut soup with croutons. I ordered this thinking it would be half a portion of each, but no. It was massive and incredible and tasty (and I’m getting so hungry now writing this)..

IMG_4955

.. so, as you can see, for £8.50 it was 100% worth it and I would definitely recommend going to eat there, I know I will certainly be going back!

In fact, even if you don’t eat there, I would definitely recommend visiting Sutton Park. It is massive, peaceful and there are the cutest little paths through trees. It was a lovely day out and I’m excited to go back, particularly now the sun has started to shine more and Spring is just around the corner…

 

Leave a Reply

